Vinegar Does More Then Make Pickles.

Posted on August 14, 2012

0


From my personal experience vinegar is an amazing inexpensive way to do so many things. First and foremost since started using plain white vinegar I have to say I nor anyone in my home has been sick in approximately 9 months.

Whether you are a prepper or into being green it truly amazing. There are so many applications. For cleaning not only is it completely natural and safe but it works great. Around the house I have spray bottles filled with one part water one part white vinegar. I use it for counter tops, windows, mirrors, fabric/carpet spot removal. All while being safe for you your kids and pets.

Vinegar works as a pain-killer, has antibiotic properties, restores PH balance in the skin, removes smells from the air and fabrics, works as a natural detox for your body, has been said to have prevented the plague during The Black Plague.

Vinegar works as a disinfectant because it is acidic it kills germs better than bleach or any other leading disinfectant cleaner only it is honestly 100% natural and very inexpensive. Which if you ask me is better than the leading cleaners.

Personally the smell of vinegar offends me a bit but once vinegar dries there is no residual smell. So if you can’t stand the smell don’t worry it will disappear in minutes.

CLEANING:

(1 part water 1 part white vinegar in a clean spray bottle.)

For counter tops spray area to be clean wipe with clean cloth.

For glass/mirrors I suggest using paper towels or newspaper to prevent streaking and lint.

For spot removal spray on stains wipe with dry clean cloth. I do not recommend it for microfiber fabrics as it leaves rings.

I use it to clean all surfaces door knobs, countertops, tables, it works on any hard surface. I clean the refrigerator wipe down outdoor furniture even to clean the bathtub.

I also have a mop that allows me to put my own cleaner in. I use the same water vinegar ratio and mop my floors they come just as clean if not cleaner then other mops that you have to buy their cleaners for. Again safe for kids and pets you don’t inhale or absorb the chemicals and fumes.

AS A PAINKILLER:

If your muscles or joints are bothering you this works great to help you not only relax but also the vinegar acts as a painkiller. While also helping remove toxins from your body.

The best way I have found is to take a hot bath with 2 cups vinegar added to this water. Soak for 30 minutes. Be sure to drink plenty of fluids as vinegar also leaches toxins from your body drawing out moisture in the process.

On a smaller scale for sore feet or hands depending on what you’re using a 1:8 1 part vinegar 8 parts water works. Add more vinegar if it suits you as it is 100% safe.

FOR THE AIR AND FABRICS:

I use my spray bottle to mist the couches, chairs, curtains, rugs, carpets anything you might spray a fabric freshener on. Again the smell disappears when dry so if you are not a fan it’s okay it goes away.

If your cooking lets say fish and you don’t want your house to smell for the next few hours or days. Boil vinegar in a small sauce pan while cooking it will absorb the smell. You can do it just to freshen the air in your home. Just remember never leave it unattended.

ANTIBIOTIC PROPERTIES:

ASK YOUR DOCTOR BEFORE YOU TRY THIS. I AM NOT A DOCTOR THIS IS PERSONAL EXPERIENCE.

Due to medical problems I ended up having reoccurring urinary tract infections and was on antibiotic for 2 years. I started researching alternative ways of keeping them at bay. I came across some testimonials of people who said they took vinegar baths. So I figured I would give it a whirl. I did and it worked. I also having knowledge of what vinegar is and how works drank some too. Doing this just once may relieve symptoms by repeating it 3 times a week can get rid of it all together.

For soaking the bath 2 cups of vinegar in a warm bath again drink fluids as it can leach moisture as it also detoxifies. Soak for at least 15 minutes

To drink mix 2 tablespoons with 8 ounces of water. It doesn’t taste as bad as you might think. I also have drank it straight. The taste leaves much to be desired but it does help clean your urinary tract.

If you get swimmers ear it can take care of that as well. White vinegar in a dropper. 2 drops in ear(s) for 2-3 days and it’s gone.

Consult your doctor before trying any thing. This Is personal experience.

FOR RESTORING PH IN THE SKIN:

Soak in a bath with 2 cups vinegar for 30 minutes.

My skin always feels nice and soft. No lotion necessary. No worries on the smell on your body or hair it goes away when dry.

There are many more uses such as use In place of liquid fabric softener to remove chemicals from fabrics. Use as a bleach by soaking whites for 24 hours use straight white vinegar.

From a prepping stand point this is something that shouldn’t be over looked. You can buy it by the gallon for just a few dollars and stock up as it has no expiration date and so many important applications in an emergency situation. You can use it as a sting or bite reliever or for poison ivy because restores PH in the skin. You can use it for sanitation when water and chemicals aren’t readily available. Vinegar is definitely something to keep in mind.

Posted in: Opinion, Survival